UTSW O'Brien Kidney Center: Cell Biology and Imaging Core

  

Overview of Services

 

The objectives of the Cell Biology and Imaging Core are to provide high quality histopathologic and scientific support for research projects by localizing proteins and/or mRNAs in tissues and cultured cells, and to offer pathology support. The Core maintains a library of wild-type murine embryos and adult tissues embedded in paraffin for use by O'Brien Center investigators. The lab also maintains bright-field, dark-field, phase-contrast, epifluorescence, and confocal microscopes.

Pathology Services

  • Processing of tissues for routine paraffin embedding
  • Detailed paraffin and cryo-microtomy
  • Standard histologic stains and special stains when required
  • Immunohistochemistry and in situ hybridization
  • Kidney pathology
  • Single tubule isolation and immunocytochemistry
  • Laser microdissection
  • Click here to request services

Schedule Equipment:

  • Zeiss LSM 510 Meta Confocal Microscope
    • Training provided for the following
      • Image Fixed Cells
      • Image Live Cells
      • Zen Software
  • Imaging of rodent kidney and heart including functional MRI
    • Consultation with Dr. Masaya Takahashi
    • Investigators are responsible for time reserved on the magnet.
      • Apparent diffusion coefficient (fibrosis)
      • Arterial spin labeling (blood flow)
      • BOLD (oxygenation) Na MRS

Administration

 

Orson W. Moe, M.D.
O'Brien Kidney Center Director
Phone: 214-648-7993
Email: Orson.Moe@UTSouthwestern.edu

 

Vincy George
O'Brien Kidney Center Program Coordinator
Phone: 214-648-7222
Email: Vincy.George@UTSouthwestern.edu

 

Leadership

 

Denise Marciano, M.D., Ph.D.
Cell Biology and Imaging Core Co-Director
Phone: 214-648-4187
Email: Denise.Marciano@UTSouthwestern.edu

 

James Richardson, D.V.M., Ph.D.
Cell Biology and Imaging Core Co-Director
Phone: 214-648-4006
Email: James.Richardson@UTSouthwestern.edu

 

Robert Lenkinski, Ph.D.
Cell Biology and Imaging Core Co-Director
Phone: 214-648-7731
Email: Robert.Lenkinski@UTSouthwestern.edu

 

 

Location and hours of operation

Refer to individual service description located under tab "Request Services"

 

Links and Resources

  1. O'Brien Kidney Center Overview
  2. O'Brien Kidney Center Core Services
  3. O'Brien Kidney Center Animal Models Core
  4. O'Brien Kidney Center Physiology Core
  5. O'Brien Kidney Center Cell Biology and Imaging Core
  6. O'Brien Kidney Center Clinical and Translational Core
  7. MRI Tools and References

 

Contacts

Name Role Phone Email Location
Vincy George
O'Brien Kidney Center Program Coordinator
 
214-648-7222
 
Vincy.George@UTSouthwestern.edu
 
H5.132
 
Leslye Grant
Confocal Microscope Trainer
 
214-648-3496
 
Leslye.Grant@UTSouthwestern.edu
 
G5.100
 
Johanne Pastor
Klotho Assay
 
214-648-1177
 
Johanne.Pastor@UTSouthwestern.edu
 
G4.210
 
Masaya Takahashi, Ph.D.
MRI: Consultation
 
214-645-2740
 
Masaya.Takahashi@UTSouthwestern.edu
 
NE3.214
 
Shanrong Zhang
MRI: Senior Research Engineer
 
214-645-2738
 
Shanrong.Zhang@UTSouthwestern.edu
 
NE4.114
 

Price List


Search available services: View: by category alphabetically
Klotho (1)


×

Add New Purchase Order

Loading