UTSW Metabolic Phenotyping Core

NEWS

SURGERY and CLAMP SERVICES are undergoing a personnel transition process. Please contact Shiuhwei Chen to design and schedule your studies. Services will be perfomed at Mr. Chen's discretion.

 

NEW!! Please be aware of cancellation fees for CLAMP SERVICES.  Effective Immediately

Billing cycles occur at monthly intervals ususally in the first week of the following month. Please make sure your subledger will not be expired at the time of billing.

Thank you for your cooperation.

 

Overview of Services

The Metabolic Phenotyping Core (MMPC) provides state-of-the-art analytical and phenotypical measures to the scientific community both inside and outside UT Southwestern Medical Center.

 

Our goal is to expand the scope of techniques available to investigators, standardize key methodologies, and expedite the completion of research on diseases related to metabolic disorders (diabetes and obesity), cancer, aging neurological disorders, etc.

  • Chemistry analysis using VITROS MicroSlide™ technology, ELISAs, and magnetic bead mapping multiplex technology
  • Tissue extraction of cholesterol and triglyceride level
  • Metabolic chambers for indirect gas calorimetry, activity, and food/water consumption
  • Urine collection chambers
  • Body composition analysis (MRI and micro-CT)
  • Glucose-insulin clamp studies
  • Seahorse XF-24(3) Extracellular Flux Analyzer for cellular metabolism studies
  • Primary hepatocyte and β-cell isolation from mice or rats
  • Sphingolipid profiling using LC-MS/MS technology
  • Hematology
  • Exercise treadmills for mice and rats

Leadership

Joel Elmquist, D.V.M., PhD.

Professor, PI

joel.elmquist@UTSouthwestern.edu

 

Jay Horton, M.D.

Professor, PI

jay.horton@UTSouthwestern.edu

 

Philipp Scherer, PhD.

Professor, PI

Philipp.Scherer@UTSouthwestern.edu

 

Ruth Gordillo, Ph.D.

Director

214-648-2566

Ruth.Gordillo@UTSouthwestern.edu

 

Syann Lee, Ph.D.

Co-Director

214-648-3782

Syann.Lee@UTSouthwestern.edu

Staff 

Duyen Do

Technical Personnel

214-648-3549

Duyen.Do@utsouthwestern.edu

 

Eva Athena Mason

Technical Personnel

214-648-3549

Eva.Mason@utsouthwestern.edu

 

Emily Reynolds

Technical Personnel

214-648-3549

Emily.Reynolds@utsouthwestern.edu

 

 

Location and hours of operation

Hours Location

Staffed:

Monday - Friday     

9:30 AM - 6 PM

5323 Harry Hines Blvd.

Room K5-126

Dallas, Texas 75390

Links and Resources

  1. http://www.touchstonediabetescenter.org/MetabolicCore/metaboliccore.html
  2. http://www.utsouthwestern.edu/research/core-facilities/mouse-metabolic-phenotyping/index.html
  3. http://www.utsouthwestern.edu/education/medical-school/departments/internal-medicine/divisions/touchstone-diabetes/index.html

Contacts

Name Role Phone Email Location
Ruth Gordillo
Director
 
214-648-2566
 
Ruth.Gordillo@UTSouthwestern.edu
 
K5-252
 
Syann Lee
Co-Director
 
214-648-3782
 
Syann.Lee@UTsouthwestern.edu
 
Y6-220A
 
Duyen Do
Technical Personnel
 
214-648-3549
 
Duyen.Do@utsouthwestern.edu
 
K5-126
 
Eva Athena Mason
Technical Personnel
 
214-648-3549
 
Eva.Mason@utsouthwestern.edu
 
K5-126
 
Emily Reynolds
Technical Personnel
 
214-648-3549
 
Emily.Reynolds@UTSouthwestern.edu
 
K5.126
 
Christine Kusminski
Support Faculty
 
214-648-8717
 
Christine.Kusminski@UTSouthwestern.edu
 
L5.206
 
Shiuhwei Chen
Research Associate Sr.
 
214-648-4573
 
Shiuhwei Chen shiuhwei.chen@utsouthwestern.edu
 
L5-108
 

×

Add New Purchase Order

Loading