UTSW Metabolic Phenotyping Core

 

Overview of Services

The Metabolic Phenotyping Core (MMPC) provides state-of-the-art analytical and phenotypical measures to the scientific community both inside and outside UT Southwestern Medical Center.

 

Our goal is to expand the scope of techniques available to investigators, standardize key methodologies, and expedite the completion of research on diseases related to metabolic disorders (diabetes and obesity), cancer, aging neurological disorders, etc.

  • Chemistry analysis using VITROS MicroSlide™ technology, ELISAs, and magnetic bead mapping multiplex technology
  • Tissue extraction of cholesterol and triglyceride level
  • Metabolic chambers for indirect gas calorimetry, activity, and food/water consumption
  • Urine collection chambers
  • Body composition analysis (MRI )
  • Glucose-insulin clamp studies
  • Seahorse XF-24(3) Extracellular Flux Analyzer for cellular metabolism studies
  • Primary hepatocyte and β-cell isolation from mice or rats
  • Sphingolipid profiling using LC-MS/MS technology
  • Free Amiono Acids profiling using LC-MS/MS technology. For Metabolic preclinical and clinical studies (Not for diagnosis purposes).
  • Exercise treadmills for mice and rats
  • RNA Scope and Base Scope Hybridization

Leadership

Philipp Scherer, PhD.

Professor, PI

Philipp.Scherer@UTSouthwestern.edu

 

Joel Elmquist, D.V.M., PhD.

Professor, PI

joel.elmquist@UTSouthwestern.edu

 

Jay Horton, M.D.

Professor, PI

jay.horton@UTSouthwestern.edu

  

Ruth Gordillo, Ph.D.

Director

214-648-2566

Ruth.Gordillo@UTSouthwestern.edu

 

Syann Lee, Ph.D.

Co-Director

214-648-3782

Syann.Lee@UTSouthwestern.edu

 

Richard (Max) Wynn, Ph.D.

Support Faculty

214-645-4405

Richard.Wynn@UTSouthwestern.edu

 

 

Staff 

 

 

Shannon Hacker

Research Technician II

214-645-4405

Shannon.Hacker@utsouthwestern.edu

 

Allison Walker

Research Technician II

214-645-4405

Allison.Walker@utsouthwestern.edu

  

Location and hours of operation

Hours Location

Staffed:

Monday - Friday     

9:00 AM - 5:30 PM

5323 Harry Hines Blvd.

Room L4.102

Dallas, Texas 75390

Links and Resources

  1. http://touchstonelabs.org/metabolic-phenotyping-core/
  2. https://www.utsouthwestern.edu/research/core-facilities/
  3. http://www.utsouthwestern.edu/education/medical-school/departments/internal-medicine/divisions/touchstone-diabetes/index.html

Contacts

Name Role Phone Email Location
Ruth Gordillo, Ph.D.
Director
 
214-648-2566
 
Ruth.Gordillo@UTSouthwestern.edu
 
K5-252
 
Syann Lee, Ph.D.
Co-Director
 
214-648-3782
 
Syann.Lee@UTsouthwestern.edu
 
Y6-220A
 
Christine Kusminski, Ph.D.
Support Faculty
 
214-648-8717
 
Christine.Kusminski@UTSouthwestern.edu
 
K5-244
 
Laurent Gautron, Ph.D.
Support Faculty
 
214-648-0272
 
Laurent.Gautron@UTSouthwestern.edu
 
Y6-220C
 
Shannon Hacker
Technical Personnel
 
214-645-4405
 
Shannon.Hacker@UTSouthwestern.edu
 
L4-102
 
Allison Walker
Technical Personnel
 
214-645-4405
 
Allison.Walker@utsouthwestern.edu
 
L4-102
 
Richard (Max) Wynn
Support Faculty
 
214-645-4405
 
Richard.Wynn@UTSouthwestern.edu
 
L4-102
 

Price List


Search available services: View: by category alphabetically
VITROS Services (4)
Sphingolipids Profiling Services (1)
Instrument Usage (1)
Bile Acids (1)
Free Amino Acids (5)
NEFA (4)